Nyck de Vries leads practice in Monaco

Nyck de Vries, Baku 2018
Nyck de Vries tops a session for the first time in 2018

In a session characterised by continuously improving lap times, Prema’s Nyck de Vries secured P1 just before the end.

The first session of the weekend started under sunny conditions. Within first 5 min, the Virtual Safety Car had been tested as Formula 2 changed their VSC procedure this season.

Nyck de Vries hit Lando Norris in the early stages just before entering the pit lane. As a consequence, the Dutchman had to change his front wing while Norris could stay on track without a visible damage.

After 20 minutes, Luca Ghiotto led the standings with a 1:22.929, being more than six tenths ahead of second-placed Norris. However, even then, times improved rapidly due to warmer track conditions and more rubber on track which changed the order constantly.

Just a minute later, Jack Aitken missed turn 1 while Antonio Fuoco touched the wall at the exit of Swimming Pool bringing out a yellow flag.

While most of the field stayed in the pits, Artem Markelov beat Ghiottos time by a tenth of a second. On their last flying laps, most drivers improved their personal best lap times once again.

At the end of the day, Nyck de Vries set the fastest time of the session with a breath-taking gap of six tenths to his closest rivals Nicholas Latifi and Lando Norris. George Russell was the only driver who failed to set a representative lap time. After some installation laps, his team worked on the car but couldn’t fix the issue before the session came to an end.

Practice Results

Pos. Driver Team Fastest lap Gap Laps
1 Nyck de Vries Prema 1:21.670 23
2 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:22.320 +0.650 26
3 Lando Norris Carlin 1:22.340 +0.670 26
4 Jack Aitken ART 1:22.526 +0.856 25
5 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1:22.553 +0.883 26
6 Alexander Albon DAMS 1:22.604 +0.934 22
7 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:22.656 +0.986 27
8 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1:22.675 +1.005 25
9 Maximilian Günther Arden 1:22.772 +1.102 26
10 Luca Ghiotto Campos 1:22.810 +1.140 24
11 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 1:22.814 +1.144 22
12 Arjun Maini Trident 1:22.860 +1.190 27
13 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 1:23.072 +1.402 22
14 Sean Gelael Prema 1:23.193 +1.523 27
15 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden 1:23.253 +1.583 23
16 Antonio Fuoco Charouz 1:23.548 +1.878 17
17 Roberto Merhi MP Motorsport 1:23.943 +2.273 20
18 Santino Ferrucci Trident 1:24.051 +2.381 28
19 Roy Nissany Campos 1:25.047 +3.377 26
20 George Russell ART 1:42.533 +20.863 4



Have your say: leave a reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.