Russell tops practice session in Spielberg

George Russell, Paul Ricard 2018
The Mercedes protégé showed his one lap pace agian

In a dry but cloudy first session of the weekend, George Russell finished first.

The drivers wasted no time at emerged from the pits right after the lights went green. Santino Ferrucci stayed out for a first flying lap of this round, before Alexander Albon and Jack Aitken beat the American fastest lap in the early stages. Lando Norris was the first to set a time under 1:15.

Just moments later, Roy Nissany and Aitken touched a little bit; as a consequence, the session was over for the Campos driver.

Times kept improving, but George Russell smashed all of them by being 7 tenths faster than the quickest lap before. The Briton posted a 1:14.159 which he tried but failed to improve in the course of the session. Albon improved as well and took P2, just one tenth ahead of Roberto Merhi.

The drivers returned to the pits halfway through the session before most of the grid focused on race simulations. The practice ended with Nirei Fukuzumi stopping on the exit of the Rauch corner. Because of the Japanese, a Virtual Saftey Car has been deployed. When the VSC was over, nobody improved as there was only one minute left on the clock.

With the first 13 drivers within one second, the qualifying session this afternoon promises to be very exciting.

Practice Results

Pos. Driver Team Fastest lap Gap Laps
1 George Russell ART 1:14.159 27
2 Alexander Albon DAMS 1:14.321 +0.162 25
3 Roberto Merhi MP Motorsport 1:14.418 +0.259 24
4 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1:14.510 +0.351 26
5 Nyck de Vries Prema 1:14.603 +0.444 24
6 Lando Norris Carlin 1:14.631 +0.472 24
7 Antonio Fuoco Charouz 1:14.649 +0.490 24
8 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:14.809 +0.650 21
9 Jack Aitken ART 1:14.838 +0.679 19
10 Maximilian Günther Arden 1:14.845 +0.686 25
11 Santino Ferrucci Trident 1:14.853 +0.694 28
12 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 1:14.993 +0.834 21
13 Luca Ghiotto Campos 1:15.122 +0.963 25
14 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden 1:15.318 +1.159 21
15 Sean Gelael Prema 1:15.359 +1.200 27
16 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1:15.401 +1.242 26
17 Arjun Maini Trident 1:15.488 +1.329 26
18 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 1:15.591 +1.432 18
19 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:15.796 +1.637 21
20 Roy Nissany Campos 1:30.443 +16.284 5



Have your say: leave a reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.