Markelov wins as Russell takes title lead

Artem Markelov, Spielberg 2018
Third win this season for the Russian

George Russell leads the championship after taking second place behind Artem Markelov.

Merhi was forced to start from the pit lane as a technical issue prevented him from taking his 5th place grid slot. The rolling start saw George Russell immediately pulling a move on Lando Norris at turn 1, and the ART driver passed Fuoco one lap later. Norris tried to stay behind his countryman but couldn’t pass Fuoco despite risking a move on the inside of turn 6. Instead, he lot a place to Albon on the following lap, while Russell also passed Camara at turn 1 on the fourth tour.

At this point Russian Time was running one-two with Russell just 2.2s from the leader. On lap 7 the Briton split the team mates, but never closed down the 2.9s gap he now had to Markelov, as the Russian managed his tyres and his opponent with the upper hand, not having had to push his tyres as Russell had.

The race entered a long stationary phase, when most cars in the bottom half of the top ten and onwards were within DRS range of one another, with Albon holding them all behind but not being caught. On lap 18, Norris finally overtook the Thai driver, but it didn’t last long as two laps later they had already swapped back, and the championship leader was dropping backwards.

Makino got passed by Camara and Fuoco between laps 19 and 21. Maini tried to pass Gelael but found the door closed and lost momentum to Deletraz who moved up in between the pair. One lap later, at turn 4, Deletraz was on the outside, alongside Gelael who left no room, and the Charouz skidded on the kerb and into the side of the Prema, puncturing the Indonesian’s rear left and triggering both cars’ retirement from the race, but they were able to reach the pit lane.

Albon passed Makino while Fukuzumi passed Norris. Ferrucci immediately acted too and overtook the Carlin on the outside of turn 4. Now out of the points, the McLaren junior was further demoted by Latifi on lap 24, before the Canadian passed Fukuzumi for the final point. On the penultimate lap Maini struck the last blow to Norris’ dreadful race as he pushed the Carlin out of the top ten.

Markelov won the race with a large margin, having forced Russell to realise there was no catching him, and the ART driver didn’t try impossible things to take a double-win and settled for second, giving him enough points to put himself ten points clear of Norris in the drivers’ championship. Camara rounded off the podium.

UPDATE: Gelael has been handed a three-position grid penalty to be served at the next race for the collision with Deletraz.

Race Results

Pos. Driver Team Gap Points
1 Artem Markelov Russian Time 28 laps 15 + 2
2 George Russell ART +5.600 12
3 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin +8.543 10
4 Antonio Fuoco Charouz +17.188 8
5 Alexander Albon DAMS +17.925 6
6 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time +22.580 4
7 Santino Ferrucci Trident +24.588 2
8 Nicholas Latifi DAMS +27.286 1
9 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden +28.046
10 Arjun Maini Trident +28.665
11 Lando Norris Carlin +30.190
12 Maximilian Günther Arden +30.800
13 Luca Ghiotto Campos +32.189
14 Nyck de Vries Prema +32.953
15 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport +36.952
16 Roberto Merhi MP Motorsport +38.895
17 Roy Nissany Campos +44.100
18 Jack Aitken ART +44.249
Ret Louis Deletraz Charouz +5 laps
Ret Sean Gelael Prema +6 laps

Fastest lap

Pos. Driver Team Fastest lap Lap
1 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:17.365 6

Fastest lap points

Pos. Driver Team Fastest lap Lap
1 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:17.365 6


Drivers’ Standings

Pos. Driver Country Points
1 George Russell United Kingdom 132
2 Lando Norris United Kingdom 122
3 Artem Markelov Russia 94
4 Alexander Albon Thailand 89
5 Sergio Sette Camara Brazil 86
6 Antonio Fuoco Italy 82
7 Nyck de Vries Netherlands 75
8 Jack Aitken United Kingdom 49
9 Luca Ghiotto Italy 47
10 Louis Deletraz Switzerland 44
11 Roberto Merhi Spain 35
12 Nicholas Latifi Canada 34
13 Sean Gelael Indonesia 29
14 Arjun Maini India 23
15 Maximilian Günther Germany 20
16 Tadasuke Makino Japan 18
17 Ralph Boschung Switzerland 10
18 Santino Ferrucci United States 7
19 Nirei Fukuzumi Japan 6
20 Roy Nissany Israel 0

Teams’ Standings

Pos. Team Country Points
1 Carlin United Kingdom 208
2 ART France 181
3 Charouz Czech Republic 126
4 DAMS France 121
5 Russian Time Russia 112
6 Prema Italy 104
7 Campos Spain 47
8 MP Motorsport United Kingdom 45
9 Trident Italy 30
10 Arden United Kingdom 26



Have your say: leave a reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.