Camara quickest in damp practice session

Sergio Sette Camara, Spa-Francorchamps 2018
Camara was competitive in Spa but will hope for better results in Monza

The Carlin driver set his time in the final part of the session as the track dried out.

Heavy rain welcomed the paddock at Monza, with GP3 forced to cancel its practice session. While it remained cloudy and the track remained cold, the rain stopped during the F1 practice session and the asphalt began to dry out.

F2 drivers started the session on wet tyres, and not having an intermediate tyre were forced to put their slick tyres on too early or keep their wet tyres too long. The Prema pair started on the slicks but it was too early, then others made the switch led by Fuoco. The medium compound was the chosen one, with Deletraz demoting Markelov from the top spot at the half-way point. As the slicks finally became suited to the track, Boccolacci topped the timesheets – but that benchmark was to be improved by the end of the session.

De Vries was yet to set a timed lap but his car hit technical troubles and he limped back to the pits-

Günther went second soon after but dropped to 18th at the chequered flag. Markelov took the top spot again, then spun on his final timed lap and stopped on track, while Camara beat his time by less than a tenth.

Practice Results

Pos. Driver Team Fastest lap Gap Laps
1 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1:33.810 11
2 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:33.858 +0.048 13
3 Alexander Albon DAMS 1:34.287 +0.477 13
4 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 1:34.646 +0.836 11
5 Luca Ghiotto Campos 1:34.677 +0.867 12
6 Antonio Fuoco Charouz 1:34.793 +0.983 11
7 George Russell ART 1:34.812 +1.002 11
8 Arjun Maini Trident 1:34.817 +1.007 13
9 Lando Norris Carlin 1:34.828 +1.018 11
10 Dorian Boccolacci MP Motorsport 1:34.848 +1.038 15
11 Jack Aitken ART 1:34.932 +1.122 11
12 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 1:34.958 +1.148 14
13 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1:35.216 +1.406 18
14 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:35.461 +1.651 13
15 Roy Nissany Campos 1:35.480 +1.670 15
16 Sean Gelael Prema 1:35.568 +1.758 12
17 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden 1:35.677 +1.867 11
18 Maximilian Günther Arden 1:35.954 +2.144 12
19 Alessio Lorandi Trident 1:36.559 +2.749 12
20 Nyck de Vries Prema N/A 3


Have your say: leave a reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.