Russell on top in Monza qualifying

George Russell, Hungary 2018
Russell takes his fourth pole position of the season

After being second after the first half of qualifying, George Russell improved the most in the final stages of the session to take pole position for tommorow’s feature race.

Unlike practice, qualifying got underway in dry conditions, when the Prema’s of Nyck de Vries and Sean Gelael were the first cars to emerge from the pits.

After two warm-up laps, drivers started their first efforts for representative lap time, with Sergio Sette Camara posting the provisional fastest lap. The Brazilian posted a 1:32.052 being almost two tenths faster than Russell in P2. Alexander Albon followed in third while Lando Norris could be found in eighth position.

The drivers did a cool-down lap before another run on the same set of tyres. As Pirelli selected the supersoft rubber as option tyre, hardly anyone could make his compound last for another run. Luca Ghiotto was an exception in this case and improved to P4. After 12 minutes, the first ten drivers were within a second.

Dorian Boccolacci had issues with his gearbox, tried to go for the gap, 15 minutes within the session, but as the problem didn’t go away, he returned to the pits after another outlap to conclude his session.

After the usual mid-session debrief, the field started their final efforts with 9 minutes to go. When the drivers crossed the line after another competitive lap, times dropped significantly. The confusion after numerous improvements on the timesheets faded briefly and George Russell turned out to be the fastest driver, just 54 thousands of a second ahead of Camara.

Some drivers immediately returned to the pits afterwords, the rest of the field couldn’t improve neither. As a consequence, Russell took pole position, Camara finished second ahead of championship contender Albon and last year’s runner-up Markelov. Camara’s teammate Lando Norris, who is currently second in the standings, came home in P7.

Qualifying Results

Pos. Driver Team Fastest lap Gap
1 George Russell ART 1:31.546
2 Sergio Sette Camara Carlin 1:31.600 +0.054
3 Alexander Albon DAMS 1:31.889 +0.343
4 Artem Markelov Russian Time 1:31.922 +0.376
5 Nicholas Latifi DAMS 1:32.021 +0.475
6 Lando Norris Carlin 1:32.191 +0.645
7 Arjun Maini Trident 1:32.248 +0.702
8 Luca Ghiotto Campos 1:32.346 +0.800
9* Antonio Fuoco Charouz 1:32.159 +0.613
10 Louis Deletraz Charouz 1:32.407 +0.861
11 Nyck de Vries Prema 1:32.566 +1.020
12 Jack Aitken ART 1:32.681 +1.135
13 Nirei Fukuzumi Arden 1:32.735 +1.189
14 Tadasuke Makino Russian Time 1:32.750 +1.204
15 Roy Nissany Campos 1:32.801 +1.255
16 Alessio Lorandi Trident 1:32.803 +1.257
17 Sean Gelael Prema 1:32.913 +1.367
18 Ralph Boschung MP Motorsport 1:32.965 +1.419
19 Maximilian Günther Arden 1:33.496 +1.950
DNQ Dorian Boccolacci MP Motorsport 1:48.586 +17.040

*NOTE: Fuoco had qualified sixth but had a three-position grid penalty carried on from the Hungarian sprint race.


Have your say: leave a reply!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.