Matsushita becomes McLaren test driver

f1-mclaren-driver-annoucement-2016-nobuharu-matsushita
McLaren and engine supplier Honda partnered with ART in 2014

McLaren and ART have strengthened their relationship by signing Nobuharu Matsushita as test and development driver.

Stoffel Vandoorne will remain the team’s reserve (or third) driver, ready to substitute for Jenson Button or Fernando Alonso in case one of them can’t race. Matsushita will instead “focus on simulator support and engineering work.”

“To step into the world of Formula 1 fulfils a boyhood dream,” said the Japanese, “and is a huge step forward in my career. I will do the utmost to help the race team on the track, by gathering data to feed back into the development and set-up of the car through simulator work.

“Last year’s GP2 Series season was a steep learning curve for me. It was my first year racing in Europe – but, thankfully, my experiences with Honda’s young driver programme meant I was well prepared for the task ahead.

“As a GP2 Series driver, my sole focus for 2016 is to win the championship. I believe that I have the best package around me to succeed and reach my ultimate goal of becoming a Formula 1 driver.”

The 22-year-old partnered fellow McLaren junior Stoffel Vandoorne at ART last year. He won a race on course to 9th in the championship, and was confirmed at the reigning teams’ champions recently.

Have your say: leave a reply!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.